2013 Web.com Tour Finals: The 50 players to get PGA Tour cards
PGA Tour Webdotcom Tour

2013 Web.com Tour Finals: The 50 players to get PGA Tour cards

At the conclusion of the Web.com Tour Championship on Sunday, the inaugural Web.com Tour Finals closed as well. With the tournament at Dye's Valley Course at TPC Sawgrass settled, the 50 PGA Tour cards on the line through the four-tournament series were decided.

Here's a look at the 50 players that earned PGA Tour cards for the 2013-14 season through both the Web.com Tour money list and the Web.com Tour Finals money list, as well their priority order heading into the new PGA Tour season that begins with the Frys.com Open.


PriorityPlayerWTF MoneyCard ViaWT Money ListPGA FEC Pts
1Michael PutnamN/AWTML1N/A
1John Peterson$230,000.00WTFML30N/A
3Chesson Hadley$229,433.00WTML3N/A
4Seung-yul Noh$210,125.00WTFML160N/A
5Andrew Svoboda$192,067.00WTML25N/A
6Trevor Immelman$180,000.00WTFMLN/A143
7Will MacKenzie$129,200.00WTFML40N/A
8Scott Gardiner$127,533.00WTFMLN/A177
9Ed Loar$119,200.00WTML4N/A
10Ben Martin$108,563.00WTML2N/A
11Patrick Cantlay$108,000.00WTFML29N/A
12Brendon Todd$95,120.00WTML20N/A
13Ryo Ishikawa$90,405.00WTFMLN/A141
14Brad Fritsch$66,000.00WTFMLN/A129
15Kevin Kisner$61,375.00WTML13N/A
16Sean O'Hair$59,333.00WTFMLN/A170
17Troy Matteson$57,250.00WTFMLN/A167
18Bud Cauley$55,900.00WTFMLN/A131
19Heath Slocum$54,000.00WTFMLN/A195
20Russell Knox$53,850.00WTFML36N/A
21Hudson Swafford$53,551.00WTFML61N/A
22Will Claxton$48,125.00WTFMLN/A169
23Brice Garnett$48,000.00WTML14N/A
24Tyrone Van Aswegen$44,383.00WTFML49N/A
25Chad Collins$44,271.00WTFML33N/A
26Billy Hurley III$40,233.00WTFML41N/A
27Danny Lee$39,853.00WTML15N/A
28Jim Herman$36,891.00WTFMLN/A139
29Joe Durant$36,158.00WTFML65N/A
30Troy Merritt$36,130.00WTFML74N/A
31Lee Williams$35,933.00WTFMLN/A182
32Ricky Barnes$34,750.00WTFMLN/A132
32Andrew Loupe$34,750.00WTFML70N/A
34Peter Malnati$34,267.00WTML18N/A
35Bobby Gates$33,650.00WTFMLN/A179
36Alex Aragon$32,671.00WTML9N/A
36Bronson La'Cassie$32,671.00WTML6N/A
38Tim Wilkinson$29,592.00WTML10N/A
39Jamie Lovemark$28,933.00WTML12N/A
40Wes Roach$22,331.00WTML22N/A
41Daniel Chopra$19,536.00WTML21N/A
42Alex Prugh$15,117.00WTML11N/A
43Miguel Angel Carballo$11,075.00WTML23N/A
44Jim Renner$7,195.00WTML17N/A
45Mark Anderson$7,163.00WTML8N/A
46Kevin Tway$6,225.00WTML5N/A
47Kevin Foley$4,600.00WTML24N/A
48Matt Bettencourt$2,650.00WTML16N/A
49Will Wilcox$-WTML7N/A
50Benjamin Alvarado$-WTML19N/A

Taking it a step further, we look at the breakdown of how the players earned their cards:

  • Of the 50 to get cards on Sunday, just 14 earned their way into the Web.com Tour Finals by finishing Nos. 126-200 in the PGA Tour's FedEx Cup points list. Of those 14, they averaged a 158th place finish in the FedEx Cup race. The worst-ranked player to earn a card was Heath Slocum, who was 91st on the Web.com Tour money list but 195th in FedEx Cup points.
  • That means 11 players earned their PGA Tour card for 2013-14 after qualifying for the Web.com Tour Finals by finishing Nos. 26-75 on the Web.com Tour money list. The lowest-ranked among those was Troy Merritt, who was 74th on the Web.com Tour money list, barely qualifying for the Web.com Tour Finals.
  • Half of the 50 cards went to players who did not finish in the top 25 on the Web.com Tour money list. For those 25 players, the minimum amount of money they had to earn to get a card was $33,650, which Bobby Gates raked in to finish 35th.
  • Of the 25 players to earn their 2013-14 PGA Tour card through the Web.com Tour money list, 15 finished worse than Gates. Two, in fact, earned no money in the Web.com Tour Finals at all (Will Wilcox, Benjamin Alvarado). That means the bottom 15 in priority order came from the Web.com Tour money list. (Perhaps the system needs changing already?)
  • John Peterson and Michael Putnam earn special, fully exempt status by virtue of winning the Web.com Tour Finals and Web.com Tour money lists, respectively. They also earn entry into The Players Championship, along with the winners of the four Web.com Tour Finals events (Trevor Immelman, Patrick Cantlay, Seung-yul Noh, Chesson Hadley).


Follow GNN on Snapchat!


GNN Radio




RSS Feed Widget