Presidents Cup History & Results | Golf News Net & GNN Radio: Golf news first.

Presidents Cup History & Results

The Presidents Cup is a biennial competition, played in alternating years with the Ryder Cup, that has been contested since 1994.

Two 12-man teams compete in a series of matches over four days to determine the champion. The two teams are the American side and the Internationals, whose 12 players can be pulled from any country that's not the United States or a European nation.

The United States is 7-1-1 in the history of the matches, only losing in 1998 at Royal Melbourne in Australia. The tie also came on foreign soil in 2003 at Fancourt in South Africa, when a playoff between Ernie Els and Tiger Woods for the Presidents Cup was called due to darkness and a tie declared by captains Gary Player and Jack Nicklaus.

Presidents Cup Format

The Presidents Cup is played over four days, unlike the Ryder Cup, which is played over three. The first day features six matches of foursomes match play, also known as alternate shot, where teammates take turns hitting shots until holing out. The teams compare scores to determine who wins the hole.

On Day 2, a similar schedule follows the Day 1 structure, but with six fourball matches, where each player completes the hole individually, with the best score of each pair determining who wins the hole.

The third day has two sessions of five matches, one foursomes and the other fourballs.

The final day features 12 one-on-one matches, with the order determined by both captains in conjunction with each other (unlike the Ryder Cup, which is a blind draw submitted by each captain).

A point is earned for each match won, with the point split between both teams in the event of a tie. A total of 34 points are available, with 17 required for the reigning champion (the United States) to retain the cup and 17.5 points to win the matches outright.

In the event of a tie, all singles matches on Sunday that end in a tie after 18 holes are to continue in sudden death until the matches are won outright and the whole points awarded, leading to a final tie at 17 points or one team winning the cup outright.

Presidents Cup History & Results

2013Muirfield Village GCDublin, OH18.515.5US - Fred Couples, INTL - Nick Price
2011Royal Melbourne GCMelbourne, Australia1915US - Fred Couples, INTL - Greg Norman
2009Harding Park GCSan Francisco, CA19.514.5US - Fred Couples, INTL - Greg Norman
2007Royal Montreal GCL'ile-Bizard, Quebec, Canada19.514.5US - Jack Nicklaus, INTL - Gary Player
2005Robert Trent Jones GCGainesville, VA18.515.5US - Jack Nicklaus, INTL - Gary Player
2003Fancourt ResortGeorge, S. Africa1717US - Jack Nicklaus, INTL - Gary Player
2000Robert Trent Jones GCGainesville, VA21.510.5US - Ken Venturi, INTL - Peter Thomson
1998Royal Melbourne GCMelbourne, Australia20.511.5US - Jack Nicklaus, INTL - Peter Thomson
1996Robert Trent Jones GCGainesville, VA16.515.5US - Arnold Palmer, INTL - Peter Thomson
1994Robert Trent Jones GCGainesville, VA2012US - Hale Irwin, INTL - David Graham

[latest-blog-items number="10"][/latest-blog-items]

[latest-portfolio-items number="10"][/latest-portfolio-items]


GNN Radio




RSS Feed Widget