PGA Tour Player of the Year award winners | Golf News Net & GNN Radio: Golf news first.

PGA Tour Player of the Year award winners

The PGA Player of the Year award has been in existence since 1948. However, in 1990, the PGA Tour and PGA of America created separate Player of the Year awards, both still awarded today.

The PGA Tour Player of the Year award is voted on by PGA Tour membership which competes in at least 12 tournaments in a season. The winner of the award receives the Jack Nicklaus trophy.

The PGA of America Player of the Year award is points-based, given to the player that accumulates the most points in a season. Points are awarded as follows:

  • 30 points for winning the PGA Championship, U.S. Open, British Open or Masters
  • 20 points for winning The Players Championship
  • 10 points for winning all other designated PGA Tour events.
  • 50-point bonus for winning two majors, 75-point bonus for winning three & 100-point bonus for winning four.
  • For top 10 finishes on the PGA Tour’s official money and scoring average lists for the year, the point value is: first, 20 points, then 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2.
  • Any incomplete rounds in the scoring average list will result in a .10 penalty per incomplete round.

Since 1992, the PGA Tour and PGA of America Player of the Year award has gone to the same person.

Tiger Woods has the most PGA of America and PGA Tour Player of the Year awards with 11 each. Woods won five consecutive PGA of America and five PGA Tour Player of the Year awards from 1999-2003.

Winners of the PGA Tour and PGA of America Player of the Year Awards

YearPGA Tour POYPGA of America POY
2013Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2012Rory McIlroyRory McIlroy
2011Luke DonaldLuke Donald
2010Jim FurykJim Furyk
2009Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2008Padraig HarringtonPadraig Harrington
2007Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2006Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2005Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2004Vijay SinghVijay Singh
2003Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2002Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2001Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
2000Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
1999Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
1998Mark O'MearaMark O'Meara
1997Tiger WoodsTiger Woods
1996Tom LehmanTom Lehman
1995Greg NormanGreg Norman
1994Nick PriceNick Price
1993Nick PriceNick Price
1992Fred CouplesFred Couples
1991Fred CouplesCorey Pavin
1990Wayne LeviNick Faldo
1989--Tom Kite
1988--Curtis Strange
1987--Paul Azinger
1986--Bob Tway
1985--Lanny Wadkins
1984--Tom Watson
1983--Hal Sutton
1982--Tom Watson
1981--Bill Rogers
1980--Tom Watson
1979--Tom Watson
1978--Tom Watson
1977--Tom Watson
1976--Jack Nicklaus
1975--Jack Nicklaus
1974--Johnny Miller
1973--Jack Nicklaus
1972--Jack Nicklaus
1971--Lee Trevino
1970--Billy Casper
1969--Orville Moody
1968--Not Awarded
1967--Jack Nicklaus
1966--Billy Casper
1965--Dave Marr
1964--Ken Venturi
1963--Julius Boros
1962--Arnold Palmer
1961--Jerry Barber
1960--Arnold Palmer
1959--Art Wall
1958--Dow Finsterwald
1957--Dick Mayer
1956--Jack Burke
1955--Doug Ford
1954--Ed Furgol
1953--Ben Hogan
1952--Julius Boros
1951--Ben Hogan
1950--Ben Hogan
1949--Sam Snead
1948--Ben Hogan


GNN Radio




RSS Feed Widget