Zac Blair DQ'd from Wells Fargo after using putter he slammed over his head
Albatrossities

Zac Blair DQ’d from Wells Fargo after using putter he slammed over his head

Zac_Blair_17th_t780

Zac Blair was disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship ahead of Friday's second round for using a non-conforming club.

That's all the PGA Tour had to say about it.


ADVERTISEMENT


However, the Utah native wasn't shy in explaining just how he came to come in possession of a non-conforming club.

It wasn't that Blair was using an illegal club. Rather it was that Blair slammed a putter over his head in frustration on Thursday at Quail Hollow, bending it after missing a birdie putt on the fifth hole. Under Rule 4-3b of the Rules of Golf, a player cannot continue to use equipment that is broken or mangled from something outside the normal course of play. In other words, if you break or bend your equipment by slamming or chucking it, you can't use it anymore. Blair unwittingly had putted out for par on the fifth with that mangled putter. When he realized it, he flagged down a PGA Tour rules official, who notified him that he would be disqualified.

"Going forward I'm going to do my best to not let my emotions get in the way out on the golf course," he said, "and I'm going to learn from this mishap and move on."

SUPPORT GNN IN OUR MISSION TO CHANGE GOLF MEDIA

For just $10 annually, you'll get:

  • An ad-free experience
  • Exclusive fantasy golf and betting research
  • Special discounts and member benefits
  • Entry into member-only giveaways
  • A USGA handicap for just $20 per year

LATEST VIDEOS

GNN Radio

FOLLOW ON TUNEIN:

GNN PLUS LOGIN

INDUSTRY NEWS FROM THE GOLF BIZ

RSS Feed Widget