Dustin Johnson got a free read on his birdie putt on the par-4 seventh on Sunday in the final round of the Masters -- thanks to gravity and the slope of the green.
Johnson was trying to get a read on his birdie bid when the ball started rolling toward the hole, about 15 feet closer.
Under the Rules of Golf, once Johnson's unmarked ball rolls away from where it's replaced, the movement is live and doesn't count as a stroke so long as Johnson's putter isn't grouned behind the ball and not obviously moved by a weather condition like weather.
Johnson was able to take advantage of his ball rolling closer to the hole and getting a bit of a read on what it would do the rest of the way, making a second-consecutive birdie as part of a stretch of three in a row.
JOIN GNN PLUS AS AN ANNUAL MEMBER & YOU'LL GET:
- A FREE USGA handicap ($30 value, annual members only)
- Entry into member-only giveaways
- Special discounts and member benefits
- An ad-free experience
- Equipment testing data
- Exclusive fantasy golf and betting research